Oscar Poster

86th Annual Academy Awards

Honoring films released in 2013. Awards presented on March 2, 2014.

12 Years a Slave Gravity Dallas Buyers Club American Hustle Her Nebraska Philomena The Wolf of Wall Street Captain Phillips
Best Picture
WINNER 12 Years a Slave
Dallas Buyers Club
American Hustle
The Wolf of Wall Street
Captain Phillips
Actor In A Leading Role
WINNER Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club
Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave
Leonardo DiCaprio, The Wolf of Wall Street
Christian Bale, American Hustle
Bruce Dern, Nebraska
Actress In A Leading Role
WINNER Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine
Amy Adams, American Hustle
Sandra Bullock, Gravity
Judi Dench, Philomena
Meryl Streep, August: Osage County
Actor In A Supporting Role
WINNER Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club
Barkhad Abdi, Captain Phillips
Bradley Cooper, American Hustle
Michael Fassbender, 12 Years a Slave
Jonah Hill, The Wolf of Wall Street
Actress In A Supporting Role
WINNER Lupita Nyong'o, 12 Years a Slave
Sally Hawkins, Blue Jasmine
Jennifer Lawrence, American Hustle
Julia Roberts, August: Osage County
June Squibb, Nebraska
WINNER Alfonso Cuaron, Gravity
David O. Russell, American Hustle
Alexander Payne, Nebraska
Steve McQueen, 12 Years a Slave
Martin Scorsese, The Wolf of Wall Street
Original Screenplay
WINNER Spike Jonze, Her
David O. Russell and Eric Warren Singer, American Hustle
Woody Allen, Blue Jasmine
Craig Borten and Melisa Wallack, Dallas Buyers Club
Bob Nelson, Nebraska
Adapted Screenplay
WINNER John Ridley, 12 Years a Slave
Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy, and Ethan Hawke, Before Midnight
Billy Ray, Captain Phillips
Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope, Philomena
Terence Winter, The Wolf of Wall Street
Animated Feature Film
The Croods
Despicable Me 2
Ernest & Celestine
The Wind Rises
Art Direction
WINNER Catherine Martin (Production Design) Beverley Dunn (Set Decoration), The Great Gatsby
Judy Becker (Production Design) Heather Loeffler (Set Decoration), American Hustle
Andy Nicholson (Production Design) Rosie Goodwin and Joanne Woollard (Set Decoration), Gravity
K.K. Barrett (Production Design) Gene Serdena (Set Decoration), Her
Adam Stockhausen (Production Design) Alice Baker (Set Decoration), 12 Years a Slave
WINNER Emmanuel Lubezki, Gravity
Philippe Le Sourd, The Grandmaster
Bruno Delbonnel, Inside Llewyn Davis
Phedon Papamichael, Nebraska
Roger A. Deakins, Prisoners
Costume Design
WINNER Catherine Martin, The Great Gatsby
Michael Wilkinson, American Hustle
William Chang Suk Ping, The Grandmaster
Michael O'Connor, The Invisible Woman
Patricia Norris, 12 Years a Slave
Documentary Feature
WINNER 20 Feet from Stardom
The Act of Killing
Cutie and the Boxer
Dirty Wars
The Square
Documentary Short Subject
WINNER The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life
Facing Fear
Karama Has No Walls
Prison Terminal: The Last Days of Private Jack Hall
Film Editing
WINNER Alfonso Cuaron and Mark Sanger, Gravity
Jay Cassidy, Crispin Struthers, and Alan Baumgarten, American Hustle
Christopher Rouse, Captain Phillips
John Mac McMurphy and Martin Pensa, Dallas Buyers Club
Joe Walker, 12 Years a Slave
Foreign Language Film
WINNER (Italy), The Great Beauty
(Belgium), The Broken Circle Breakdown
(Denmark), The Hunt
(Cambodia), The Missing Picture
(Palestine), Omar
WINNER Adruitha Lee and Robin Mathews, Dallas Buyers Club
Stephen Prouty, Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa
Joel Harlow and Gloria Pasqua-Casny, The Lone Ranger
Music (Original Score)
WINNER Steven Price, Gravity
John Williams, The Book Thief
William Butler and Owen Pallett, Her
Alexandre Desplat, Philomena
Thomas Newman, Saving Mr. Banks
Music (Original Song)
WINNER 'Let it Go' by Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez, Frozen
'Happy' by Pharrell Williams, Despicable Me 2
'The Moon Song' by Karen O and Spike Jonze, Her
'Ordinary Love' by Paul Hewson, Dave Evans, Adam Clayton, and Larry Mullen, Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom
Short Film (Animated)
WINNER Mr. Hublot
Get a Horse!
Room on the Broom
Short Film (Live Action)
Aquel No Era Yo (That Wasn't Me)
Avant Que De Tout Perdre (Just Before Losing Everything)
Pitaako Mun Kaikki Hoitaa? (Do I Have to Take Care of Everything?)
The Voorman Problem
Sound Editing
WINNER Glenn Freemantle, Gravity
Steve Boeddeker and Richard Hymns, All is Lost
Oliver Tarney, Captain Phillips
Brent Burge, The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
Wylie Stateman, Lone Survivor
Sound Mixing
WINNER Skip Lievsay, Niv Adiri, Christopher Benstead, and Chris Munro, Gravity
Chris Burdon, Mark Taylor, Mike Prestwood Smith, and Chris Munro, Captain Phillips
Christopher Boyes, Michael Hedges, Michael Semanick, and Tony Johnson, The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
Skip Lievsay, Greg Orloff, and Peter F. Kurland, Inside Llewyn Davis
Andy Koyama, Beau Borders, and David Brownlow, Lone Survivor
Visual Effects
WINNER Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, Dave Shirk, and Neil Corbould, Gravity
Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton, and Eric Reynolds, The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
Christopher Townsend, Guy Williams, Erik Nash, and Dan Sudick, Iron Man 3
Tim Alexander, Gary Brozenich, Edson Williams, and John Frazier, The Lone Ranger
Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach, Ben Grossmann, and Burt Dalton, Star Trek Into Darkness

2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003 2002 2001 2000 1999 1998 1997 1996 1995 1994 1993 1992 1991 1990 1989 1988 1987 1986 1985 1984 1983 1982 1981 1980 1979 1978 1977 1976 1975 1974 1973 1972 1971 1970 1969 1968 1967 1966 1965 1964 1963 1962 1961 1960 1959 1958 1957 1956 1955 1954 1953 1952 1951 1950 1949 1948 1947 1946 1945 1944 1943

"Academy Award®" and "Oscar®" are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.


Undiscovered Picks

Upcoming movies worth watching that you may not have heard of.

  • Pitching Tents
  • A Family Man
  • Wolves
  • Ripped
  • Amelia 2.0